top of page
  • Jason Hesley

Unique True Metal Duo VISION MASTER Releasing 'Sceptre' in August on Gates of Hell Records!

Driving, unrelenting and unique true metal is what's on offer for the forthcoming debut album, Sceptre, from Vision Master. Sceptre combs the darkest depths for ten songs of blazing and unconventional classic metal! Gates of Hel Records will release Sceptre on August 25.

Stream album opener "Wolves in the Shadows" at:

Former Funerot members Dan Munro and Reuben Storey (Christian Mistress) have long imagined a band like Vision Master: Dark, but with mystical atmospheres adjoined with blistering guitar riffs, thunderous rhythms and soaring vocals.

The band’s first full-length, Sceptre, is a fully-realized exercise in driving, unrelenting and unique true metal. Thoroughly recorded at Storey and Munro’s home studios, and with Tony “Baloney” Jefferson providing additional engineering, Sceptre was finally mastered by Justin Weis’.

Sceptre pushes boundaries across the traditional metal terrain, with Vision Master drawing from a wide range of influences that spans old-school metal as well as the likes of Brocas Helm, Slough Feg, Venom, Mercyful Fate and early Voivod. And, going down an even dirtier and extreme path, Discharge, Poison Idea, Die Kreuzen and classic black metal. It all adds up to a cosmic journey that, as Munro explains, “explores the depths of strange, unfamiliar realms and unrealities.”

Featuring cover art by Seventh Bell Artworks based on an experimental photographic collaboration between Dan and David Hoekje, Sceptre transports the listener into a futuristic world where a biological network sprawls across cities and xenon gas stores are the only hope for mankind. The album’s journey brings listeners to a mystical, sandstone throne with the power to probe the origins of mankind, ultimately asking the question: If you had the power to undo the petulant plague that is man, would you?”

FFO: Brocas Helm, Mercyful Fate, The Lord Weird Slough Feg,

and Cosmic Horror.


Vinyl (Crystal, Neon Black):

Track Listing:

1. Wolves in the Shadows

2. Wet Net

3. Gossamer Sky

4. Knife in a Velvet Glove

5. Walls of Bone

6. Sandstone

7. Arc Terminal X

8. Dust Within

9. Beyond

10. Thin Veil

5 views0 comments


bottom of page