Featured Artist


The Adversary

Formed in 2006, in the Western Sydney locality of Blacktown, the group originally consisted of vocalist Brendan van Ryn, guitarists Gary Markowski and Sean Delander, bassist Josh King, and drummer Lee Stanton. Most members were around 15 years old at the time.   Infinite Death was released in 2008 via Shock and subsequently Skull And Bones Records. Following the breakout release of Infinite Death and two years of relentless national touring, it was announced in 2008 that van Ryn was departing from the group.  Thy Art Is Murder searched for a year for a new vocalist, until finding Chris "CJ" McMahon from Sydney metalcore band Vegas in Ruins. The band were so impressed with his death growl vocals that he was brought into the band during 2009. Bassist Mick Lowe replaced King shortly before the band began tracking demos for their first full-length album The Adversary. The demos recorded in 2009 included early versions of the songs "Engineering the Antichrist" and "Cowards Throne". In 2010, the group began recording the album's final recording sessions and released the album on 16 July 2010.


Dear Desolation

The band released their fourth studio album, titled Dear Desolation, on 18 August 2017. The record is the band's last album with founding drummer Lee Stanton, as well as the first to feature Kevin Butler on bass.



Hate is the second studio album by Australian deathcore band Thy Art Is Murder. The album was released on 19 October 2012, through Halfcut Records, but was reissued on 5 April 2013, through Nuclear Blast. after the band signed to the label. Lyrically, the album has a harsh, misanthropic tone, and criticises a number of perceived aspects of modern life, from politics and religion to broader social issues and the environment.[9] According to bassist Sean Delander, "Tom and myself wrote a majority of the material, I moved up to his house and we wrote the songs over the course of 2 months. Tom would go to work and I would just sit around at his house drinking coffee, writing riffs and recording them the best way I could, then we would sit down together and work on the ideas that weren't terrible."


Human Target

Human Target is the fifth studio album by the Australian deathcore band Thy Art Is Murder. It was released on 26 July 2019 and is the band's first album with drummer Jesse Beahler. On 30 October 2020, the band released a single titled "Killing Season" which guitarist Andy Marsh explained was about Thanksgiving revealing "Killing Season touches on the darkness surrounding the origins of Thanksgiving, and while that subject is relevant at this time of year, we want you to think of the atrocities both past and present that deserve acknowledgement."


Sworn to the Dark

Holy War is the third studio album by Australian deathcore band Thy Art Is Murder. It was released on June 26 through UNFD and Nuclear Blast. The album was produced and mixed by Will Putney, recorded in late 2014. The band announced on 21 December 2015, that vocalist CJ McMahon had decided to leave the band to focus on his family due to his inability to afford touring. On 14 January 2017, former vocalist McMahon rejoined the band onstage at Unify Festival in Tarwin Meadows, Victoria, where he confirmed his return to the group, and that the show was for the fans a "celebration that is me coming back to join my brothers in world domination."

Reign of Darkness
The Son of Misery
Human Target