top of page
  • Jason Hesley

THE LORD OF THE SNOW to release "As Within, So Without"

TLOTS is devoted to massive, metal-oriented soundscapes: a constantly evolving sludgy mix of doom and post metal (often seasoned with noise and dub elements), which often takes its inspiration from alpine landscapes and Tibetan traditions.

The new album 'As Within, So Without' (2023, Subsound Records) is about what's inside us, how we interact with the outside, and vice versa. Everything we do and experience through our thoughts, our skin, and our actions, constantly influence our inner selves and our surroundings. It’s a constant exchange and confrontation that drives our lives and pushes us to widen our horizons with each step we take.

'As Within, So Without' was conceived together with Jacopo Pierazzuoli (MoRkObOt, Obake, Deneb) on drums, Eraldo Bernocchi (mix, mastering and additional guitars), and Petulia Mattioli (artwork).

'As Within, So Without' is out now available on LP and all digital services via Subsound Records. Order at the label webshop HERE and Bandcamp HERE.

TRACKLIST 1. Sky Burial Ritual 2. Boundless Charnel Grounds 3. Nagas 4. Rotten Skin 5. Ocean's Ether 6. Thousand Wrong Directions 7. Wrathful Offerings 8. Dancing on Broken Bones 9. As Within, So Without

BIOGRAPHY Born in 2010, The Land of the Snow is a project and a state of mind of Joel Gilardini, experimental guitarist and sound designer, based in Zurich (Switzerland). Beside TLOTS, he is also known for his ambient-drone works (released on labels like ZeroK, Unexplained Sounds Group and Endtitles) and is a member of the noise-industrial combos Mulo Muto (with Attila Folklor, CH) and Psychic Drones (with Kazuyuki Kishino, JP). The first period saw many collaborations and exchanges with different artists, as TLOTS was often intended as an open medium for collective works. This phase saw few releases too: the first EP 'Belonging to Nowhere' (2013, Altrisuoni), and the collaborations albums 'First Free Bitches Love' (2015, Bloodlust Records) with Sshe Retina Stimulants (aka Paolo Bandera of Italian industrial masters Sigillum S), and 'Vuoto/Leere' (2016, Luce Sia) together with Mingle (aka Andrea Gastaldello). After these collaborations, works started on the first full-length album 'Paths of Chaos' (2017, Taxi Driver): a concept album that revolved around Chaos, seen as a generator of new possibilities, instead of a negative principle. 'Paths of Chaos' guests what would become the TLOTS studio line-up: Jacopo Pierazzuoli on drums (MoRkObOt, Obake, Deneb), Eraldo Bernocchi at the mixing-desk (Sigillum S, Obake, SIMM), and visual artist Petulia Mattioli for the graphic department. After 'Paths of Chaos', TLOTS took a kind of a hiatus which was broken by few live appearances and the mini-EP 'Of Other Folklores' (2019, self-released).

11 views0 comments


bottom of page