top of page
  • Jason Hesley

LIES! will release their second album, Mind Pollution, on 08 December 2023!

Dutch metallic hardcore heavyweights LIES! will release their second album, Mind Pollution, on 08 December 2023, available on CD and digital formats independently (powered by their agency DarkerHalf), with Coretex Records exclusively handling the CD version in Germany and Diorama Records distributing the album in Asia.

Established in 2011, LIES! emerged from the vibrant Groningen scene. In their short but impactful existence, LIES! wasted no time leaving their mark with their aggressive blend of hardcore punk, thrash, and metallic hardcore. With various gigs across Europe and support shows for Hatebreed and Sick Of It All, along with three releases, the band had to take a break around 2014 as vocalist Rene went abroad for a few years. After a hiatus of 7 years (due to work commitments), they returned in 2022 with their DIY comeback EP, Rebirth, followed by a series of exciting live shows, including a performance at the 3-day HC/metal festival Pitfest. 

Their upcoming album, Mind Pollution, prominently reflects the influences of hardcore and crossover metal bands such as Hatebreed, All Out War, Terror, and Merauder across its nine intense and concise songs. With a more direct and explosive sonic approach, the album also reminisces the music of the ‘90s Sepultura or Simulakra, evoking a powerful nostalgia. Nevertheless LIES! maintains a distinct contemporary sound throughout this record. What sets LIES! apart is their ability to construct songs that simply do not string breakdowns together or jump abruptly from one section to another, leaving a lasting and memorable impact that urges listeners to scream along.

Rene, the vocalist, delves into the album’s theme, stating:

“In the midst of our chaotic lives, a form of pollution has emerged – ‘Mind Pollution.’ This pollution warps our thoughts and perceptions, driven by constant urges and misleading influences, all fueled by an unending need for connection. The fear of missing out and the fear of loss perpetuate this cycle. Within our minds, a storm rages — a tornado of anger, opinions, and external influences. This mental turmoil threatens our core beliefs and even our ability to reason. In the midst of this turmoil, we risk losing our true selves, pulled away by external forces. This internal storm can be overwhelming, capable not only of shattering our world but also leading to complete estrangement or even more dire consequences.”

The internal storm portrayed in the album cover — an enormous vortex in a lightning storm crushing a city with brains emerging — parallels the chaos depicted in the lyrics, exploring the impact of pressure, desire, fear, and neediness on human cognition and the potential destruction of humanity.

Adding to the collaborative effort, Hugo Zerrad, vocalist from the French metallic hardcore band Worst Doubt, not only contributes as the cover artwork designer but also lends his guest vocals on the track “Propaganda.” 

All the songs were recorded and produced by Sander, the guitarist of LIES!, at 3181 Studio. He was responsible for recording and producing all the previous recordings of LIES! as well. 

Track Listing:

1. Mind Pollution [Listen]

2. Wounds Into Wisdom

3. Propaganda (featuring Hugo Zerrad from Worst Doubt)

4. Setsunai

5. Resurrect

6. World / Inferno

7. Hunting Season

8. No Blood Left to Bleed

9. The Cleansing A.D.

17 views0 comments


bottom of page