• Jason Hesley


Hellripper have revealed details of their upcoming new studio album The Affair Of The Poisons scheduled for release on 9th October 2020.

Hellripper, aka James McBain, based in the Scottish Highlands, says of their forthcoming epic “‘The Affair of the Poisons’ contains the mixture of thrash/black/speed metal and punk that Hellripper has become known for, but this time I feel that the end result is more cohesive. Some of the tracks are more straight-forward while others contain some twists and parts that are new to the Hellripper sound. As always, the whole writing and recording process was done at home by myself, with a few friends of mine contributing some additional vocals and lead guitar parts. The album was mixed by myself and was mastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege who did an amazing job.

Lyrically, the album’s themes primarily revolve around witchcraft and the occult, with some tracks being based on historical events (‘The Affair of the Poisons’, ‘Beyond the Convent Walls’) and Scottish legend (‘Vampire’s Grave’).

Skadvaldur did an excellent job, as he always does, of creating a piece of artwork that both represents the album’s themes, as well as being a somewhat of a homage in style to the old B-horror movie posters that inspired a few of the album’s tracks.”

The Affair Of The Poisons tracklisting:

1. The Affair Of The Poisons [04:59] 2. Spectres Of The Blood Moon Sabbath [03:37] 3. Vampire`s Grave [02:59] 4. Beyond The Convent Walls [04:29] 5. Savage Blasphemy [03:11] 6. Hexennachtm[02:50] 7. Blood Orgy Of The She-Devils[02:51] 8. The Hanging Tree [04:45]

2 views0 comments

© 2020 by Toxic Metal Zine. Proudly created with