• Jason Hesley

Canadian Progressive Death Thrashers CATHARTIC DEMISE Releasing 'In Absence' Album in April!

Progressive Death/Thrash Metal quarter CATHARTIC DEMISE will release full-length album In Absence on April 9. The official video for new single, "For Power," is available at The single is also available on Bandcamp.

In comparison to the band's self-titled EP, In Absence still consists of the Melo/Prog/Death Thrash Metal elements, but with a more "mature" approach. The overall musicianship within the band improved, as well as the overall songwriting capabilities. In Absence features the same aggression as the self-titled EP, but brings an intense atmosphere with extreme tempos, and brisk riffs. This release heavily carries on the epic melodic sections heard previously, and even going further with more complex song structuring and longer tracks. Aside from the aggressive side of things, hints of experimentation can be heard, showing slower sections, and clean parts as well.


Track Listing

1. With Lust

2. For Power

3. Blade in the Dark

4. Silence Within

5. Pale Imitations

6. Disparity

7. In Absence

8. Waves

9. Desire

Album Credits:

Album Art by Ioannis Vassilopoulas

Recorded and mixed by Jonah Kay at HM Studio, Waterloo ON

Mastered by Jamie King

9 views0 comments