top of page
  • Jason Hesley

BORKNAGAR Announce new album “Fall” and start pre-order; First single “Summits” out now!

Norway’s pioneers of avantgarde/progressive Black Metal BORKNAGAR are proud to announce their upcoming monumental 12th studio album entitled “Fall”, which will be released worldwide on February 23rd, 2024 via longtime record label partners Century Media Records.

“Fall” includes 8 majestic tracks across 54 epic minutes of playing time, once again brilliantly mixed by Jens Bogren / Fascination Street Studios (Opeth, Amon Amarth, Kreator) and featuring stunning album cover artwork by Eliran Kantor (Testament, My Dying Bride, Sodom), which can be seen above.

BORKNAGAR founder and mastermind Øystein G. Brun comments about “Fall” as follows: "We are extremely proud to present you all with our 12thalbum entitled “Fall”, another chapter of our musical journey. In many ways “Fall” represents a continuation of “True North”, but as always, we are pushing further and afar to seek even broader and more challenging horizons. Musically we are loyal to our musical legacy, but we have most certainly walked through fire and ice to reach our highest peak yet. Although “Fall” represents a wide array of musical and lyrical ideas, the fundamental theme behind the album is based on the fascination and appreciation of the very outskirts of life. Those places, and those beings, in the vast periphery of our own existence that very few live to see or even learn to know about- but still are profoundly essential for our existence. With "Fall" we seek to portray and cherish all that holds up and pushes boundaries - against the great fall."

Today, the album’s first single and opening track “Summits” is being launched and you can check it out in a visualizer clip created by Wanderley Perna / W Designer here:


Øystein G. Brun added the following words about the track: "From the day you are born, nature will do everything in its power to get you back into the ground. The lonesome struggle of being you or the mighty struggle of all life, will eventually tear you down from the inside - or from the outside. But for the short glimpse of time we endure, we all seek the ultimate heights of our very own existence. Our first single “Summits”, from the upcoming album “Fall”, scopes in on this everlasting drama of life - where the drama unfolds - at the very outskirts of life."


“Fall” is the follow up to 2019’s widely acclaimed “True North” studio album and will be available as limited first-pressing Digipak CD, Gatefold 2-LP on 180gr vinyl and as Digital Album with the following tracklist:



1. Summits

2. Nordic Anthem 

3. Afar

4. Moon

5. Stars Ablaze

6. Unraveling

7. The Wild Lingers

8. Northward

The vinyl edition of “Fall” will be available in the following variants:

  • Gatefold black 2LP

  • Ltd. Gatefold neon orange 2LP (300x copies, available from & various other retailers)

  • Ltd. Gatefold transp. bottle green 2LP (300x copies, available from EMP & Nuclear Blast)

Make sure to pre-order “Fall” in its various formats from today onwards here:

5 views0 comments
bottom of page