top of page
  • Jason Hesley

THANTIFAXATH Release "Hive Mind Narcosis" on Dark Descent Records!

The new album from Canada's Thantifaxath is out now on Dark Descent Records.

Thantifaxath’s second full-length Hive Mind Narcosis is not only a giant leap for the band but also for contemporary extreme metal as a whole. From its very first notes, there is a feeling of transcendence beyond genre… beyond its scene and peers.

Previously dubbed avant-garde black metal, Thantifaxath surpasses such mundane press tags, instead conjuring forth an expansive, discordant, and mind-altering brew that’s never just black, thrash, death, or doom metal psychedelia.

Recorded entirely in-house by the band, Thantifaxath has tailored their sound to crushing perfection – a production so immense the listener daren’t move until the bitter end.

Just like its music, Hive Mind Narcosis is a lyrical blend of two mutually conflicting ideals: “The album has two levels working in dichotomy with one another. On one level there is a strong resistance to something, and on the other, there is a total acceptance of that same thing. Beyond that, we leave it open to your interpretation.”

In every truly pioneering band’s career, there is a moment when they set themselves apart from the pack and become an island. For Thantifaxath, Hive Mind Narcosis is that album.

The cover art for Hive Mind Narcosis features the Francisco Goya painting “Witches’ Flight” (1798) on license from Museo Nacional del Prado.

Order Hive Mind Narcosis on CD/LP/CS and digital formats at and


1. Solar Witch

2. Surgical Utopian Love

3. The Lost Wisdom of Wolves

4. Burning Kingdom of Now

5. Hungry Ghosts

6. Blissful Self Disassembly

7. Mind of the Sun

7 views0 comments


bottom of page