top of page
  • Jason Hesley

Prog-Death Juggernaut CONTRARIAN to Release Demos & Oddities: 1995-1999 in July!

After a genre-bending, musically encirching journey consisting of debut EP, Predestined, in 2014 and the subsequent release of five full-length albums on Willowtip Records, Progressive Death Metal masters CONTRARIAN dug right down to the roots in compiling the songs that would become Demos & Oddities: 1995-1999. The band will release the album independently via CD Baby on July 28, as well as offering it for free on all streaming platforms.

Stream opening track "Loss of Phase" at:

Guitarist Jim Tasikas had this to say about the album:

"As with many other progressive death metal bands in the 90’s such as Death, Pestilence, Atheist, and Cynic; Contrarian also experienced disruptions in continuity from lack of support in the fledgling scene and lack of capable musicians within an innovating genre. Being able to record music during that time was more difficult. Bands commonly recorded demos under different names. Mantas (Death), R.A.V.A.G.E. (Atheist), Portal (Cynic). The same went for Contrarian during these times (Manic). Upon many requests from fans, we have gathered some of these demos in a collection. The 1990s were an amazing time for metal in Rochester, NY as well. It was this time period that spawned bands such as Disgorged(Withered Earth), Buried Beneath(Night Conquers Day), Lethargy(Sulaco/Mastodon) and so many more. Most of these bands recording in the infamous Watchmen Studios in Lockport, NY with Doug White. It was an amazing time, and we hope you enjoy these vintage raw demos with a 'live feel' from around 1995-1999."

Track Listing:

1. Loss of Phase

2. Sine Wave Trails

3. Equilibrium

4. Mosfet Tapestry

5. EMI

6.Infinite Derivatives

7. Analytic Doctrines

5 views0 comments


bottom of page