top of page
  • Jason Hesley

Kapnas Announce New Self-Titled Doom Album!

Hailing from Montreal, QC, Canada, the eerie doom outfit Kapnas manifest uncanny atmospheres through textural instrumentation and dynamic vocals. The upcoming self-titled full length, that delves into the obscure nature of life and death, will release on the 30th June 2023.

The band comments:

"We are fuzzed to announce our debut self-titled album, kapnas, will be released on June 30th, 2023. We explore the groovy yet fuzzy sides of the coin that is life and death on this album. It was great to sit down and just jam out a bit and get ideas that eventually fit into songs and we are really proud of this album."

Pre-order Kapnas on Bandcamp:

Written and recorded as a brainstorming jam session at FoxHole Studios in Montreal, Kapnas delivers a dark take on doom through a minimalist fuzz-fuelled style. The songs on the album explore life and death from both fantasised and 'real' perspectives, as well as through rose-tinted glasses and the inevitability of change. From the opener 'Kapnas' to 'Budrum' (Greek term for basement or subsurface space), the band create an immersive experience in a haze of smoke. Percussion drives the rhythms and distorted guitars bring the heaviness while both clean and harsh vocals unleash a creepy and monstrous edge.

Kapnas is:

Kapnothios: guitar & vocals

Brustrella: bass, & drum programming

Kapnas Track Listing:

1. Kapnas

2. Dismal Nostalgia

3. Signs Of Life

4. Under The Pale Moon

5. As Sudden As The End

6. Odd Times Ahead

7. Slo Dth 22

8. Budrum

8 views0 comments
bottom of page