• Jason Hesley

FUOCO FATUO Complete Work On New Album “Obsidian Katabasis”

With their latest opus “Obsidian Katabasis” (to be released April 02, on CD/2LP/Digital), Italian doom metal cult FUOCO FATUO have implemented their most towering, suffocating, darkest and most abstract work yet.

Following up their massive 2017 release “Backwater” which saw the band morph into a more monstrous entity by heightening their doom metal paradigm into more funeral-like realms where their sound became more amalgamous with the likes of such luminaries as Disembowelment, Tyranny, and Esoteric, “Obsidian Katabasis” sees FUOCO FATUO venture even further into the otherworldly obscure undiscovered dimension. Elements of a dreadful nature which find cohesion for a rich and thick sound that manifests into a visionary descent through multi-layered guitars, skullcrushing low tuned chords and sepulchral tremolos filtered through analog sounds for wider landscapes marred with obsessive drumming and infernal growls.

An atmospheric, violent and noisey ritualistic experience recorded by the band in Italy, mixed by Nikos Giagkoudakis at Unreal Studioz in Greece, and mastered by Greg Chandler (Esoteric), “Obsidian Katabasis” features cover artwork by Abomination Hammer and additional art courtesy of Timothy Grieco.

“Obsidian Katabasis” track listing:

  1. Obsidian Bulwark (Creation of the Absurd)

  2. I

  3. Thresholds of Nonexistence Through Eerie Aeon

  4. II

  5. Psychoactive Katabasis

  6. III

9 views0 comments

© 2020 by Toxic Metal Zine. Proudly created with